Online on the Highstreet

I found an interesting article on BoF (which I just discovered) and thought I’d post about it whilst also flagging up the blog at the same time. So many articles you read about highstreets and malls getting lower and lower foot fall ratings yet, as this article points out, when you think about it there is also an, albeit it small, migration of the online retailers back into the highstreet. Interestingly they keep hype up by producing well publicised ‘pop-up shops’ for a ‘limited time only’.

I’ve always found the downside of buying (clothes prodominantly) online is that you can’t try before you buy. My body doesn’t seem to agree with the way clothes are being sized these days and as such I’ve apparently been shrinking since the age of 18 — not the case I’m scrupulous in knowing my measurements and I haven’t budged an inch anywhere in 4 years! So to me this migration of online to highstreet is great, however what does that mean for the staple highstreet stores, we’ve already seen most of them appear online, such is the apparent trend, so it seems only fair and reasonable online needs to come out of cyber space and into our town centres.

My favourite online to highstreet migration has been Models Own, not the little section in Boots but the pop up stores in malls such as Westfield, whoever came up with the design for those mini shops deserves a medal, they’re so in keeping with the brand and you know exactly who they are and what they’re all about just from the outside of the shop, what more could you want?! If other online brands can be just as successful as this then I’m all for the migration!

Image : alittleobsessed.co.uk

To read the full article click HERE 

xoxo

Leave a Reply

